INSTRUCTION PAGE FOR TICKET OR SUMMONS

Visit https://delaware.gov for more information

PAY VOLUNTARY ASSESSMENTS BY DUE DATE:

Payment can be made online at (courtpay.delaware.gov), OR by Check or Money order made payable to "State of Delaware" and mailed with a copy of the ticket to the Voluntary Assessment Center, P.O. Box 7039, Dover, De 19903-6039. Payment by credit card (VISA, MASTERCARD, DISCOVER) may be made by mail, email (JPCOURT@state.de.us), by fax (302-739-7590) with a copy of your ticket with your credit card information or by phone (302-739-6911). Payment by phone may involve an extended wait. DO NOT MAIL CASH. If a receipt is needed, please enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope. Tickets due to be paid at an Alderman Court are to be mailed directly to the appropriate Alderman Court.

VOLUNTARY ASSESSMENT CENTER (VAC) ONLINE PAYMENT PLAN: How does it work? The VAC will allow you 30 days from the date the ticket was issued to request a payment plan with three equal payments. Paying the ticket in full may be done anytime within the 90-day period without penalty. If you need a different payment plan, you must request a transfer to a Justice of the Peace Court with an explanation. How to set up an online payment plan: Go to courtpay.delaware.gov (Welcome to ePayment). Select "Deferred Amount". If the option is not available, the ticket does not qualify for an online payment plan. For further assistance, contact the VAC at 302-739-6911 during their normal business hours Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. For all Alderman Court information, please contact the Alderman Court listed on your ticket.

IMPACT ON YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE - VAC TICKETS ONLY:

Delaware drivers: Under DMV Division Policy Regulation #2208, 4.2.1 (effective 4/1/2000), a licensee who pleads guilty to a speeding violation, from 1-14 miles per hour over the posted speed limit will not be assessed points provided the ticket is paid as a mail-in through the VAC or Alderman Court <u>AND</u> the licensee has NOT been convicted of a speeding violation within the previous three (3) year period. If you do not pay the fine to the VAC or Alderman Court, the policy does not apply. Please contact Division of Motor Vehicles for more information about licenses and policies.

If you do not pay in full or start a payment plan your license will be flagged and you will receive a \$15.00 late fee. The flag prohibits you from renewing your license and/or registration.

Out of state drivers: Delaware DMV will notify your Division of Motor Vehicles if you fail to pay by the due date. You will receive a notice that your license may be suspended and you will receive a \$15.00 late fee if payment is not received within 14 days of the notice.

REQUEST A HEARING TO PLEAD NOT GUILTY/NOT RESPONSIBLE (NR only applicable to civil violations), OR REQUEST PROBATION BEFORE JUDGMENT (PBJ), YOU MUST:

Sign below and mail, fax or e-mail a copy of the ticket and this instruction sheet (with your signature) to the JPCOURT@STATE.DE.US, or Alderman Court, by the due date listed on your ticket. If you plead not guilty/not responsible or are requesting PBJ, you must appear in court. Upon receipt of notification that you wish a hearing, you will be notified of the location, date, and time of your appearance in the Justice of the Peace Court or Alderman Court. There may be multiple cases scheduled at the same time and you may have an extended wait, so please plan accordingly. PBJ qualifications: No motor vehicle convictions or PBJ within the previous five (5) years and cannot hold a CDL. Out of state drivers must bring a certified copy of their driving record for the past 5 years.

I wish to plead Not Guilty, Not Responsible or Obtain Probation before Judgment.

| | SIGNATURE | DATE |
|---------------------------------|-----------|-----------|
| CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS: | | |
| | | |
| PHONE NO.: | | Ticket No |

ADDRESS CORRECTIONS: Should be made to Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and to the court in which you are to appear or make your payments.

MANDATORY APPEARANCE TICKETS:

You must appear in person at the court noted on the ticket at the date and time specified. If you are under 18 years of age, you must appear in court AND must be accompanied by a parent and/or guardian of age. You may NOT pay by mail. If you fail to comply with this summons, your driving privileges may be suspended and a warrant for your arrest may be issued without further notice.