INSTRUCTION PAGE FOR TICKET OR SUMMONS

MANDATORY APPEARANCE TICKETS:

You must appear in person at the court location noted on the ticket at the date and time specified. If you are under 18 years of age, you must appear in court AND must be accompanied by a parent and/or legal guardian. You may NOT pay by mail. If you fail to comply with this summons, your driving privileges may be suspended and a warrant for your arrest may be issued without further notice. If there is no dollar amount listed on your ticket, this is a mandatory appearance ticket.

PAY VOLUNTARY ASSESSMENTS BY DUE DATE:

Payment can be made online at **courtpay.delaware.gov** OR by check or money order made payable to "State of Delaware" and mailed with a copy of the ticket to the Voluntary Assessment Center, to the address shown on your ticket. Payment by credit card (**VISA, MASTERCARD, DISCOVER**) may be made by mail with a copy of your ticket with your credit card information or by phone. Payment by phone may involve an extended wait. DO NOT MAIL CASH. If a receipt is needed, please enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope. Tickets due to be paid at an Alderman Court are to be mailed directly to the appropriate Alderman Court.

ONLINE PAYMENT PLAN WITH THE VOLUNTARY ASSESSMENT CENTER (VAC):

You have 30 days from the date the ticket was issued to request a payment plan of six (6) equal payments. **To set up an online payment plan,** go to **courtpay.delaware.gov** (Welcome to ePayment). Select "Deferred Amount". If the option is not available, the ticket does not qualify for an online payment plan. For further assistance, contact the appropriate Voluntary Assessment Center during normal business hours. For all Alderman Court information, please contact the Alderman Court listed on your ticket.

IMPACT ON YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE - VAC TICKETS ONLY:

Delaware drivers: Under DMV Division Policy Regulation #2208, 4.2.1., a non-CDL licensee who pleads guilty to a speeding violation, from 1-14 miles per hour over the posted speed limit will not be assessed points provided the ticket is paid as a mail-in through the VAC or Alderman Court <u>AND</u> the licensee has NOT been convicted of a speeding violation within the previous three (3) year period. If you do not pay the fine to the VAC or Alderman Court, the policy does not apply. Please contact Division of Motor Vehicles for more information about licenses and policies.

If you do not pay in full or start a payment plan, your license will be flagged by the DMV. The flag prohibits you from renewing your license and/or registration.

Out-of-state drivers: Delaware DMV will notify your Division of Motor Vehicles if you fail to pay by the due date.

TO REQUEST A HEARING TO PLEAD NOT GUILTY/NOT RESPONSIBLE (NR only applicable to civil violations) OR TO REQUEST PROBATION BEFORE JUDGMENT (PBJ), YOU MUST:

Send a copy of your ticket and this form (with your signature) to the <u>JPCourt@delaware.gov</u>, or Alderman Court, or Town VAC, by the due date listed on your ticket. If you contest the ticket or request PBJ, you must appear in court. You will be notified of the location, date, and time of your hearing. You are not eligible for PBJ if you have motor vehicle convictions or received a PBJ for a motor vehicle offense within the previous five (5) years or hold a CDL. Bring any documents to court that can help resolve the charges against you. **Out-of-state drivers:** Provide a certified copy of your driving record for the past five (5) years.

I wish to plead Not Guilty, Not Responsible, or Obtain Probation Before Judgment.

	SIGNATURE	DATE
EMAIL ADDRESS:	SIGNATORE	DAIL
CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS:		
PHONE NO.:	TICKET NO	
rom the address on my ticket:	YESNO	

PHONE NO. Mailing address is different from the address on my ticket